It is observed that in many countries, not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on the society?

In recent decades, the number of students who study science fields is not enough in comparison with the needs in numerous parts of the world. One of the reasons for this incident can be the difficulty of most science courses, which could lead to a lack of skilled people in the future. There are two main factors for the decrease in the number of students in science fields. At first, most science subjects are harder to study and also have longer graduate duration. Students like to choose easier courses and shorter graduate periods to enter the job market faster. For instance, a person who likes to be a doctor needs to study for longer years in comparison to the other majors. Additionally, their lessons are very complicated. The second reason is the lack of information about science majors. Most schools and educational systems do not have any motivation programs to introduce the different types of fields, especially science to pupils. Their programs push students toward specific majors such as business, which is a trend nowadays. This issue will have some effects on society. If there is no balance between the majors, then in the near future, some jobs will face a lack of specialist staff while other occupations will have a lot of graduate people without any job opportunities. As a result of this, the students do not have a secure career in the future. To sum up, although science plays an inevitable role in the growth of societies, in many countries, pupils have lost interest in the science majors. It is important that governments and societies encourage pupils to choose and study science like before decades.