Discussion More and more people today are drinking sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons for this? What are the solutions?

In the modern world, a growing number of people prefer sugary drinks. This is because these kinds of drinks are cheaper compared with healthy ones, and many people love to drink something sweet. In my opinion, the government should impose taxes on drinks with high sugar content and educate people to understand the downsides of sugary drinks. To commence with, one of the reasons for this tendency is that sugary drinks are affordable. To compete with healthy beverages, many companies sell sugary drinks at cheaper prices. To illustrate, in many countries, soda and coca-cola are the cheapest drinks. Thus, people choose to drink items with sugar due to their relatively cheaper prices. Another reason for this is that people like sweet drinks. Because of a hectic work schedule, people in the present feel stressed, and sugary products enable them to relieve stress. For instance, in Japan, many people drink soda after working since they can release stress from having sugary products. Therefore, a person often enjoys drinking sugary items to relieve stress. To address this situation, the government should impose taxes on sugary drinks. People will barely purchase sugary drinks if they are no longer cheaper. To exemplify, in the USA, extra costs were put on prices. As a result, successfully this approach put a curb on buying sugary products. I agree with this way because many shoppers will be reluctant to buy sugary drinks, and they will come to choose healthy drinks. Another approach is to educate people to acknowledge how dangerous it is to continue to drink sugary things. Academic facilities should teach children that sugary drinks may cause obesity and high blood pressure which are detrimental to the human body. To take Japan, for example, many children are unwilling to drink sugary items because the majority of the schools are supposed to deliver health lessons where pupils can learn that sugary products usually result in obesity. Thus, educational opportunities prevent people from having sugary items. To conclude, the main two reasons why people pursue sugary drinks are that they are affordable as well as modern people usually release stress by drinking them. To improve this phenomenon, I believe the government should impose taxes on sugary beverages, and schools should deliver health classes to educate people.