Cultural tourism, in which people travel in order to visit museums, monuments and archaeological sites among other things, is a growing industry. Having so many visitors may sometimes benefit a nation's cultural heritage, but it can also cause problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Countries with a great history and lots of archaeological sites demand their historical worth to help the economy which is called the cultural tourism industry. Some people believe that this business makes benefits from having more visitors from around the world but, others believe that it can cause some problems with its archaeological value. It agreed with the first statement and this essay will provide relevant evidence to prove it. On one hand, the tourism connection with the cultural heritages of a country supports their economy both directly and indirectly ways. For example, several tourists attract developing countries because they mainly visit archaeological sites. Accordingly, it helps to grow the business directly by providing goods and services to them such as hotels, restaurants, travel agents, etc whilst other various traditional industries are benefited such as masks, traditional pieces of jewellery, foods, etc. Accordingly, the increasing more and more tourists due to the cultural value bring more money into the country. On the other hand, the great heritage which has more than thousands of years of history might be damaged due to the increasing number of visitors without proper preservation methods. For instance, some ancient paintings in Sigiriya in Srilanka, and Ajantha in India may damage because of taking photographs. Moreover, if there is no proper way to protect the environment when fulfilling the requirements of tourists it may no longer be a tourist paradise in the future. To conclude, helping the economy in various ways is the main advantage of the cultural tourism industry but it may cause its value and to the environment with improper management.