Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth in low- cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations Some people say that governments should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

Travelling by air has become more popular in the last few decades, thanks to the affordability of cheap flights. It has created some positive impacts such as boosting the local economy of the tourist destinations but it also comes with some drawbacks like air pollution and more airports being constructed. Some people think the government should impose higher taxes on low-cost commercial flights in order to tackle the problem, but I do not think this approach is totally workable to reduce air traffic. First of all, the government should only impose a heavier tax on airlines that are not environmentally friendly. Budget airlines that place importance on reducing carbon dioxide emissions, for example, should not be penalised, as they are equally responsible towards our environment as their bigger counterparts. On the other hand, certain better measures can be taken to hamper this problem. Government can impose laws on airline companies to limit their flight frequencies or to limit the number of greenhouse gases that they produced per flight. This will lawfully force them to find alternative ways rather than relying heavily on fossil fuel as a source of energy. Government can build better public transport, for instance,roads and railways, to encourage the general public to travel by land. Furthermore, they should develop and promote the local attractions along the routes so people will be tempted to use trains or buses to travel. In conclusion, I think heavier taxes will not stop people to travel by air. In order to solve the problem of increasing air traffic and its detrimental effect on the environment, the government should take steps to promote other modes of travel, and to penalise those flight companies that do not have policies to protect the environment.