In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside the big cities. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that authorities in some cultures encourage big companies with plenty of factories to relocate to rural areas instead of urban areas. Although this has several advantages, the drawbacks may be far more significant. On the one hand, there can be some minor benefits of companies and laboratories moving to remote and rural areas. One possible approach is that the quality of the environment in a particular city will be ameliorated thanks to the disappearance of factories. The main factor leading to the decline in air quality is the poisoned fume released by thousand of manufactories. If governments can impose restrictive policies to ban the existence of these factories, the amount of poisoned fume will significantly decline, contributing to the fresh air condition. Another beneficial effect could be that the locals are able to access high-skilled labour jobs and have a better life. It makes it harder for urban dwellers to find good jobs since these jobs tend to concentrate in big cities. As a result, these communities can not have high salaries enough to cover their demands and most of them fail to make ends meet. Nevertheless, relocating businesses and factories to urban areas can have major downsides which overshadow these positive impacts. The most obvious issue could be that the development of the whole nation could fail significantly. The growth in some big cities accounted for half of the growth of the country due to their high productivity in factories. As soon as these companies have to move their factories to outside cities, they will lose a much larger proportion in their value, thereby the development of the country will stagnate. Another drawback worth mentioning is that the unemployment rate will increase dramatically. A large number of people flock to urban areas in the hope that they can have good jobs with high salaries, therefore these residents will lose their job if companies move to other areas. In conclusion, despite the potential benefits of relocating businesses and factories to outside cities, they pale in comparison to the drawbacks involved.