In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

Nowadays, with the advancement of technology and the improvement of living standards, the average life expectancy has increased, resulting in a larger proportion of older people in society. This trend has more negative effects than positive effects on society. Firstly, the population issue of a large proportion of older people will pose a heavy burden on the government. As we all know, our bodies decline with age and older people are more prone to sickness, causing a dramatic increase in the probability of illness. This means the government has to spend more on medical insurance for older people, resulting in higher tax rates for citizens or reduced spending on other public services. Both of these have negative effects on society. Secondly, the efficiency of society will decrease due to the large proportion of older people. As we age, our ability to work declines, and if there is a large proportion of older people, important jobs with complex responsibilities, such as government officer, scientist, and engineer, will have fewer potential candidates. This can lead to a lower efficiency of society. On the other hand, older people can sometimes have positive effects. They can teach younger generations valuable lessons and life experiences. In conclusion, the increasing proportion of older people has more negative effects than positive effects on society.