In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

Nowadays, with the increasing of technology and living standard, the average life expectancy has been alleviated, which leads to a larger proportion of older people. This fact has more negative effects than positive effects to our society. Firstly, the population problem, large proportion of older people, will pose a heavy burden to government. As we all known Change the form of the verb know show examples, our body declines with age, the people older have a more weaken body than younger, the probability of sickness will increase dramatically. With this fact, our government has to spend more in the medical insurance in older people, so they have to pose heavier tax rate to the people or spend less in other public service. Both of these have negative effects to our society. Secondly, the efficiency of society will decrease because of the large proportion of older people. As we age, our ability to work declines. If there is a large proportion of older people, the complicate job will have less potential candidate, so it’s harder to find a suitable candidate for these jobs. The complicate job are important exactly, such as the government officer, scientist, engineer and so on. In the reason of above, this population problem can lead to a lower efficiency of society. On the other hand, the older people can pose a positive effects sometimes. The people who are older can teach a lot to younger such as philosophy of life, life experience and so on. In conclusion, the increasing of proportion of older people has more negative effects than positive effects to our society.