Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays internet usage has become predominant everywhere. Unlike other services, Government should try to provide internet free of cost to everyone in the country like paving roads. I do not agree that Government should take the responsibilty for this, as It can be disregarded that the necessity of internet availability is similar to other services. Firstly, in many countries the Governments are providing free wifi in most of the public places which includes airport, railway stations, government hospitals etc., In addition to this, though it is widely used around the world, everyone's perspective of usage is not the same. Not everyone uses the wifi at the same time, speed and purpose. It varies from person to person. Unike the usage of other amenities like roads provided by Government, which after getting fixed can be used as and when necessary at no extra cost after the pavement is completed for once. Whilst internet would be more expensive to spend for the whole country as a whole. Secondly, the availability of free internet at all times will leave many individuals and children spoilt. Adults might be found surfing social media applications and children might be spoilt playing games and accessing other unwanted websites which would result in an unhealthy society in the future. Families may split up due to poor communication between each and other, less concentration on education by kids, lack of care for the elderly etc., which will end up in a cultural mishap. To conclude, I disagree that it not compulsory to give free internet to people in the country whilst there are many other important services that are being rendered by the Government for the public. Henceforth, it is better to leave internet in the list of bills to be paid by the individual which would keep them regulated.