Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Dicuss both views and give your opinion ?

In order to achieve success in a career, some people think that completing tertiary education is the best guarantee, while others consider getting first-hand experience right after school more valuable. In my opinion, the best option depends on which career path we choose. First of all, if we want to get professional jobs such as engineers, doctors and accountants, graduating from universities would definitely give us a better head start. Moreover, we will need the knowledge enquired from these higher education institutes to work in these fields, as we can not imagine the harm it will bring, if a surgeon, for example, operates on patients but does not have the necessary knowledge of the anatomy of the body. Besides, these highly qualified occupations also have high competition, thus graduating from established or well-known universities will be even more advantageous. However, in fields like businesses or marketing which require a lot of soft skills and networking, heading right to work after school can be of better advantage as the exposure and experiences gained are proven to be of higher value than theories learned. Furthermore, they can always learn from their business mentors or enrol in part-time studies while at work to further qualify themselves. Jobs like marketing executives and business personnel are a few examples of this category. In conclusion, whether to undergo tertiary education or not will depend on the jobs that we are interested in. Professionals will definitely need to be qualified while those in business and marketing might get better outcomes if they start early.