Due to rise in crime, the use kf cctv cameras at publicplaces is increasingly day by day .what are the advantages and disadvantages of using cctv cameras at public places?

In today's world, crime is on the rise every day. Multiple measures are being taken to reduce it. Due to the rise in crime, the use of CCTV cameras in public places has increased significantly. We shall discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using CCTV cameras in public places in the following paragraphs. Firstly, CCTV cameras at banks, ATMs and important government offices have become a must. This helps these departments to be vigilant against any thefts. For instance, the looting of ATM machines has become a serious scam nowadays. However, the security cameras have helped to catch the defaulters in time and eventually reduce the crimes over a period of time. Also, it has helped in identifying culprits in incidents related to the general public happening on the roads. Although there are a lot of advantages to the adoption of cams in public places, there are some disadvantages too. Installation of cameras is a costly expenditure which bores a hole in the government's pocket and there have been incidents where the infrastructure itself is stolen. For example, there was a gang recently caught in Chandigarh stealing security cameras from all kinds of locations like roads, markets and heritage sites. In addition to the procurement costs, maintenance is high for the setup. According to research, the operation of such equipment has made the security staff incompetent and lethargic in fulfilling their duties. Therefore, its usage should be regulated. To conclude the statement that due to the rise in crimes, the use of CCTV cameras has been increasing day by day, and there are both pros and cons. To avoid the unnecessary burden of costs, the installation of CCTV cameras should be done at certain locations of importance. Moreover, the need of the hour is to deploy efficient surveillance groundsmen to keep the public safe.