Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that art-related lessons are required in school for students to enhance their learning performance. Personally, even though I truly support that non-exam subjects have a variety ~of~ benefits for students, I do not think they are mandatory in school, which might cause more pressure but not a pleasure for students. On the one hand, having arts-related subjects helps teenagers have more choices to build up their self-confidence. Formal education might not suit all students, some of them would therefore struggle with their study path, and their confidence might be undermined by those failures, and then eventually give up on learning. However, if schools provide more diverse lessons, those students can have more opportunities to find some subjects they have an interest in, which can motivate them to learn things of interest and cultivate their confidence. Thus, providing more non-exam subjects could help them keep learning and ends up improving their learning performance. On the other hand, making these arts-based lessons a necessary requirement for students would not be a creative relaxation for students. Especially for those students who are not interested in arts, these art classes might become a burden for them because they might feel they do not have enough time to course those academic subjects. In addition, when these creative activities are an obligation, students could get stressed and lose their enthusiasm for learning the arts. Ultimately, these non-exam subjects increase children’s burden and pressure, causing them lower performance in study. In conclusion, I believe many benefits can come with providing more creative lessons to students, however, schools should give them more choices to encourage their interests in learning but not make these lessons as enforcement, which might result in more issues for study performance.