Write about the following topic: In many countries, not enough students study science subjects. What are the causes? What will be the effect on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The science education system has changed over the past few years. Today there are a limited number of students selecting science subjects for their higher education in countries. The following essay will elaborate on the reasons and the effect of not selecting science subjects for society with examples. Commencing, a majority of children selected science subjects such as physics, chemistry, and biology for further education purposes even though the technology was not developed as today. However, this phenomenon has completely changed due to the introduction of new advanced subjects and electives which is easy to achieve. As an example, to become a doctor an individual should study science subjects to the extreme and this profession was the highest paid but nowadays subjects like technology, and accounting pays higher salary thus children to focus more on easy subjects and high pay. Moreover, the complex educational background in science elective subjects makes children less interested to study. Because it is not only the exam and homework students should follow but the theoretical experience as well which takes a couple of years to be in the profession. On the contrary, students trying to avoid science studies bring a plethora of negative consequences to society. Firstly, the number of doctors, scientists, and other professionals in the industry will reduce which means there will be a limited amount of doctors in hospitals where people have to suffer and new inventions will gradually decrease. As an example, if there were a large number of experienced doctors and other researchers medications for diseases such as coronavirus would have been introduced quickly, since the number of professional were low it took a couple of months to find a solution. Secondly, medical industries such as hospitals, laboratories, and other organizations will close down eventually which will seriously affect the revenues of the government in the future. In conclusion, many children have second thoughts about studying science subjects due to other alternative subjects and the high complexity of science. However, there are repercussions of limiting the number of science students which will affect society, the number of professionals in the industry will reduce and this brings dreadful results to patients and people. Moreover, the authorities will have to face a downfall in the economy since the medical industries will go down eventually.