In recent years, there has been growing interest in the relationship between equality and personal achievement. Some people believe that individuals can achieve more in egalitarian societies. Others believe that high levels of personal achievement are possible only if individuals are free to succeed or fail according to their individual merits. What is your view of the relationship between equality and personal success

As we are living in a democratic and capitalistic society, we have the freedom to achieve our dreams unless it does not violate the law. However, some people argue that our right should be acceptable only if when it contributes to social justice. In this essay, I will explore both opinions and elucidate my arguments in the following paragraphs. First of all, when we have the freedom to accomplish our visions and our success will lead to financial security, people have more motivation to work hard and it eventually increases the sum of happiness of our society. As one of the eminent,philosophers Jeremy Bentham pointed out, maximizing happiness eventually results in the whole justice. For example, people in North Korea do not have motivation or encouragement, as they are living in a communist nation which means even though they work hard it does not enhance their life qualities. In contrast, the reason why South Korea has developed so fast last several decades is that people have a strong ambition to succeed or achieve their life goals and society provides all the necessary provisions. Thus, there is nothing better than individual freedom when we want to inspire one's desires to achieve. On the other hand, no matter how much individual freedom has extended, if social justice is not realized, our success has no meaning. In some ways, our success is a zero-sum game which deprives limited resources of others. Thus, success is not coming from someone's exclusive ability, rather than it comes from the structural contradiction in society. This is why we have to think not just about surviving ourselves only but about coexisting altogether. For example, some Northern European countries such as Denmark and Finland are very egalitarian societies as there are not many absolutely rich or poor people. In these equal societies, the poor do not have to worry about their abject poverty, besides the rich also do not show off their wealth. Consequently, social balance creates and promotes happiness for everyone. To sum up, it is indisputable that human freedom is crucial as this is the main source of people's encouragement. However, if we pursue too many individual rights it finally destroys our social values and eventually it leads to unhappiness. We have to work with the government to increase our total sum of happiness.