Food travels thousands of miles from producers to consumers.Some people think that it would be better for the envionment and economy if people only ate the local food produced by farmers.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that consuming food produced locally would be better economically and environmentally. I agree with this statement because transporting food too far would increase its price and also contribute to global CO2 pollution. This essay will explain the reason and also why the opposite is still practised today. First, consuming locally has been the norm for thousands of years. Until the advent of the industrial revolution, people only eat what grows in their region or the neighbouring ones. That's because it's fresher and more suitable to grow in their climate. With healthier crops, they can produce more food on smaller land without the need for excessive fertilizer and pesticides. Because of that, food grown locally and eaten locally are healthier for the people and for the environment. Not only that, but because the consumer can buy directly from the producer, it's cheaper and also going to help the local economy. Second, though eating local food has many benefits, sometime it doesn't make sense in the context of the global economy. For example, some area has cheaper and better food source, while another area has cheaper manpower for packing and processing. Another reason might be because some food is only produced in certain areas, while other areas that cannot produce that food still want to consume it. Thus, some food eaten in one area might be processed in another area and produced in another different area across the globe. In conclusion, eating local food is better from the perspective of the environment and the local economy. Although, from the perspective of big global corporations, often it's cheaper to transport food thousands of miles to the consumer.