Some people say that playing computer games is bad for children in every aspect. Others say that playing computer games can have positive effects on the way children develop. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued whether playing computer games helps children’s life development or not. Personally, I think playing games is a good approach to improving children’s problem-solving and collaboration skills. However, it could also cause adverse effects on their mental and physical health. On the one hand, game players can gain a sense of achievement by overcoming those challenges in games. That might be the reason why game players could play a game for hours and hours at a time. Furthermore, some games require many players to work together to solve problems and pass the game. In other words, these challenges are like problems or difficulties we might face in our daily life, but children can learn problem-solving skills in a pleasurable way without high pressure. Thus, gamifying challenges can help youngsters and students learn easier and better. On the other hand, playing games for long hours every day can also damage children’s health. First, long screen time can harm children’s eyesight, and result in a sedentary lifestyle, eventually leading to over-weight problems. Second, playing computer games reduce children’s face-to-face interactions, which might make them under high social pressure when they are meeting their classmates or relations. Ultimately, they might stay at home all day without social activities with their families and have dfficulties in building intimate relationships with others. In conclusion, gamifying our life challenges could give children an interesting way to learn how to solve problems by themselves or working with a team. On the contrary, if they spend too much time on games, playing games would become a drawback to their health. Therefore, I believe children should balance their playing hours and practice their skills not only in the virtual gaming world but also in their real life.