Science gives people life expectancy of close to one hundred years or even more. Some people view it in a positive light, but others believe it creates some problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people are of the opinion that due to the development of science and technology in the near future humans will have a longer term of life. In my opinion, I wholeheartedly believe that 100 years of lifespan brings both pros and cons to society. On a societal level, senior citizens are invaluable resources. Thanks to their extensive experiences, the older generation will make a great contribution in important fields, such as science, engineering, biochemistry, politics and education. We often see top executives at the age of 50 or over offering consultancy for newly established companies for the businesses to operate effectively. Another typical example is that an experienced teacher with vast knowledge is always the one that coaches students who go to international competitions. Not to mention, oldsters instill the long-standing traditionals, cultural values or morals in young people thereby preserving the core values of a country. I would contend that this growing trend can contribute to various problems. The first obvious one is the aging population which leads to a shortage of young workers in certain sections, such as construction trades or the creativity workforce. Moreover, old people will put a heavy burden on the healthcare system. With a weak immune system, the elderly are susceptible to many diseases and from that require a large amount of money from the national budget to support and treat them. In conclusion, even though there are both upsides and downsides in longevity, I believe in the near future, we will find the solution for these problems.