In the past, many people had skill such as making their own clothes and doing repair to things in the house. In many countries, nowadays, skills like these are disappearing. Why do you think this change is happening? how far is this situation true in your country?

In olden days, people were skilled enough to sew their own outfits and repair household items. However, these skills seem to be vanishing in recent years due to a variety of reasons. This essay illustrates some factors contributing to this change and discusses the present day situation in my country. There are compelling reasons for the decline of such skills among humans. Nowadays, people spend more time in their work place and they find it difficult to do extra work at home. Also, there are a wide range of commercial shops and service centres available to perform such jobs in a short period of time. Due to the constant evolution of new designs, people are attracted towards such commercial markets and they forget to implement their skills. Moreover, people ’s lifestyle has changed and they are earning more, so they value things less. As a result, instead of repairing the old one, people prefer to buy a better one. In my country India, there is a gradual disappearance of these skills; nevertheless, a majority of people still possess these skills. In order to save money, some women sew the clothes of their family members and some men tend to do minor repairs at homes. However, people of this generation prefer to get ready-made or fancy dresses which are readily available in market. Also, they indulge in various other leisure activities like sports and arts and hence they have little or no interest in stitching their clothes or fixing things. In conclusion, people possessed a lot of skills in the past and now those skills are disappearing. It is the change in lifestyle and their busy schedules that makes them unwilling to do things on their own / by themselves.