The recent popularity of online shopping will result in the end of high street shop. To what extent what do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the trend of shopping through e-commerce platforms is getting popular and it is argued that it will ultimately end high-street shops. In my personal perspective, though online purchasing is gaining popularity, the significance of physical shopping malls will still remain the same and the essay below discusses the views. First of all, consumers tend to ensure the suitability and appropriateness of products that they want to purchase which is practically not possible when purchasing online. For instance, a woman gives a try to several clothes on the basis of her preference to make sure it fits her body and suits her before she decides to purchase them. Because of consumer behaviour towards preference, selection and decision-making, the end of physical shopping may not be feasible. In addition, customers belong to different classes in the income sector and some class of people is not always aware of technological advancement and prefer shops that offer affordable price. Along with this, the extra delivery charges and the hassle of the exchange policy may not be acceptable to all groups of customers. Admittedly, online shopping is vastly growing in the urban sector among youngsters for the purchase of gadgets, clothes, groceries and many more. Even shopkeepers are promoting their products digitally along with street shops to compete with trending changes. However, online shopping is not possible in every sector of products like high price equipment including laptops, desktops, furniture and so on. In conclusion, a digital platform for shopping has impacted several ways for buying patterns of end-users but there are several factors that will favour the existence of street shops.