Nowadays, older people who need employment have to compete with younger people. What problems does this cause, and what are the solutions?

The rapid increase in the world population has led to many problems around the world. One of them is the widespread unemployment due to scarcity of job opportunities. Nowadays, older people are competing with the younger ones for the same jobs which has caused problems for both segments of the population. I will discuss these problems and suggest viable solutions in the following paragraphs. Firstly, the main problem that has risen due to this phenomenon is that young graduates find it arduous to look for a job that will kick start their careers. Most job openings, these days, require a certain amount of experience that young graduates do not have. Older people are experienced in their fields and grab those jobs with ease leaving many younger people unemployed and, consequently, depressed. For example, an opening for an accountant would require a minimum 5 years experience and this would most definitely be taken by someone older who is looking to switch jobs for a better opportunity or who has changed cities and a young accountant with no or less experience would be deprived of a good job opportunity. Likewise, some jobs are tailor made for the younger ones and older people find it hard to secure these jobs. For instance, work requiring up to date knowledge of latest technology and gadgets is suitable for younger people and older people, understandably, would fail to get such a job. Therefore, an older person who has done work in the IT industry throughout his life would be left unemployed, if he were to get laid off late in his career. This phenomenon has resulted in saturation of the job market, particularly, for the young graduates. I believe that certain steps need to be taken in order to alleviate this problem of unemployment and competition for a limited number of jobs. Firstly, companies should ensure job security for every employee and older and younger people, alike, should not be fired without a valid reason. This will serve to decrease the number of people seeking jobs. Moreover, young graduates should not have to compete with experienced old workers for jobs. A good number of jobs should be exclusively made available for inexperienced young graduates so that they can start building their careers easily. Additionally, governments should increase their efforts to provide employment to older people who were laid off for any unforeseeable reason like the covid pandemic. This will decrease the strive between the younger and older population for the same jobs. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that the increasing number of older people competing for the same job as younger people has led to unfavourable outcomes for the younger population in certain scenarios and for the older population in certain scenarios. All of this could be solved if companies devise a plan to allocate certain jobs exclusively for young graduates and others for older people seeking employment