The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

Nowadays, many people prefer to hang out with their friends than spend time at home with their relatives. This phenomenon results in the disappearance of family traditions of having quality time such as having meals together. This essay will explain the factors of this issue and provide relevant examples. In recent years, there are two main factors that cause people to not be as close as their family in the past decade. To begin, food stores seem to be one of the causes that makes family members tend to leave the tradition of togetherness in terms of having meals. In this circumstance, there have been plenty of eateries available either in the city or in the countryside. This might encourage people to go to restaurant to eat instead of cooking and eating at home with their family. For instance, society in Parepare, Indonesia, prefers to visit eatery three times a day in order to fulfill their hunger. As the result, they do not have time for eating together. Another reason is that they might be busier, therefore, they may have no time to have a meal at home. However, the discharges of this recent eating custom into humans’ life are daunting due to the family relationship. In other words, one family can feel away since they never spend time together. To illustrate, there have been many phenomena in my village where mother and child no longer look like a family since they are not even close. Therefore, getting together with family is essential to prevent a broken relationship. Moreover, a family may not feel a sense of togetherness anymore as they only have limited time to spend at home. In conclusion, although the massive development of facilities such as restaurants will ease people’s life, spending time with family is fruitful since it can strengthen individuals’ relationships.