In recent years, there has been growing interest in the relationship between equality and personal achievement. Some people believe that individuals can achieve more in egalitarian societies. Others believe that high levels of personal achievement are possible only if individuals are free to succeed or fail according to their individual merits. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

All people live within societies but personal achievement is important to every human. There are several factors that can influence acquisition of success. The question is whether other people encourage us to become successful or motivation comes within ourselves? Firstly, most of the people will assimilate into society they are sourrounded with. For example, if one is surrounded with highly competitive group, one is more prone to show its competitive side also. Secondly, it gives one a more objective perspective on how much work other invest in their personal achievements. For this reason, person can see more clearly where she stands at and work more in order to accomplish it. That is to say, egalitarian societies can be quite encouraging if individual is prone to the competition. However, humans are likely to rank themselves within communities. Thus comparing to others and their meanings of success is not very good in terms of overall motivation. In particular, it can act discouraging because every individual is different and has its own means of standard. Moreover, there is a saying: “The only person you should try to be better than is the one you were yesterday.” For this reason, one should follow their own merits and tempo. In my opinion, egalitarian societies can have positive effect on individiual achievements. But it appears to me that following personal motivation and disires desire is more helpful way of acquiring something valuable. Therefore what is important to one, can be totally insignificant for somebody else.