Some employers are willing to give their workers a certain amount of unpaid sabbatical* time, believing this benefits the individual and the organisation. Other employers see no merit in this arrangement and discourage it. Consider the possible arguments for and against unpaid sabbatical leave, and reach a viewpoint of your own.

Nowadays, we are working all year, although some people believe that their leave periods are not enough while others contest the benefits of unpaid sabbatical time. Many firms could give this unpaid moment to employees if they needed it. In this essay, we are going to describe some advantages of both points of view. Firstly, Employers tend to argue, that leave time is great for the organisation because of the "fresh start" and the increase in motivation. We can agree that the holidays benefit employees because they don't think about work and spend time with family and friends. Hence, enjoying moments far away from the office can relieve so much tension. Then, when people came back, they are ready to work. For example, in France every worker has five weeks of paid leave. Nevertheless, we can ask for a one-year vacation without being paid. On the contrary, Managers and HR disagree with it believing that paid leave is enough. Every work needs to be paid but holidays should be earned on merit. The law already agree to several weeks paid so asking for more could be seen as proof of unmotivation. Workers should give 100% at work to show their respect to the company. To sum up, everyone should have their own opinion about this topic. Personally speaking, I guess that we should trust workers when they ask for some time without salary. Therefore, I consider advantages are crucial for individuals and the organisation.