Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Recently, there are more and more people have started up their own businesses instead of being an employee. This essay will discuss the reason to be self-employed and its disadvantages. To start with, new occupations have come up due to the advance in technology, whereas several jobs have been replaced by AI as well. The change in the industry has led to more and more start-ups. For instance, individuals open up businesses to provide online courses nowadays. Moreover, compared with working for an organisation, it is more flexible to be self-employed. To be specific, people can not only manage their time easily but also take control of everything since they are the boss. However, as self-employed, people may have several concerns. Firstly, it is risky to start up a business. One may lose amounts of money once they fail their business. Secondly, being the boss of a company is more stressful since you are in charge of the whole organisation. In conclusion, although it is risky and stressful to open up a business, owing to the change in industries, communities tend to be self-employed due to their flexible working timetable.