Genetic engineering for both medical and agricultural purposes is causing increasing amount of controversy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of genetic engineering and explain your opinion.

Genetic modification is the practice of manipulating the genes of an organism. While some people believe that it could bring a lot of benefits for medical and agricultural purposes, many others argue that it may cause harmful consequences to lives on earth. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and explain why their drawbacks outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, genetic engineering could improve people’s living standards in many ways. Firstly, in terms of agriculture, farmers can use genetic alternation to produce crops that grow faster and bigger. Genetically modified (GM) cereals, fruits and crops are better resistant to insects and diseases, as well as, have a better appearance than organic foods. Therefore, GM foods may look more attractive to consumers and gain more profit for farmers. Secondly, genetic engineering is also widely used in medicine. Scientists have been using genetic modification to produce drugs and vaccines or help to cure inherited illnesses by changing human genetic characteristics before a baby is born. Moreover, clones are also a result product of genetic engineering which is used for creating replacement organs for the human body. As a result, humans can have a longer and healthier life. On the other hand, there may be some risks involved in using genetic alternation. It may rise many ethical concerns in society. For example, parents may want to choose their children’s characteristics by using the human genetic designation. This is considered unnatural and unacceptable in many religions and cultures. Furthermore, clones may be purposely produced for certain reasons such as organ harvesting or to be used like robots for particular jobs. If these happen, human evolution and the senses of society would change completely. Last but not least, genetically modified food production would be harmful to the ecosystems. GM crops which are designed to resist insects would cause the distinction of various insect species due to the shortage of food resources. This would eventually lead to a butterfly effect on the existence of other species in nature and the stability of the ecosystem. Therefore, genetic engineering would cause severe damage to the environment. In conclusion, genetic engineering may bring various advantages in farming and medical sectors, however, its consequences of rising ethical concerns and significant harm to the environment are much more serious than the benefits. Therefore, genetic modification practices should still be regulated and limited to prevent damage.