Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are two controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the optimal way to deal with lawbreakers. While some claim that sending them to jail is the best tactic to handle the offender, others make a statement that schooling and vocational training are more superior methods. While the formal is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, keeping perpetrators under arrest is not the greatest choice to treat them. Moreover, depending on the severity of their committed wicked acts, the government should consider more appropriate methods to deal with them. Some criminal convict misdemeanor like shoplifting, graffiti painting to name a few should be punished with a fine, whereas offender commit felony namely sexual assault, kidnapping, murdering, etc should be imprisoned. Hence, keeping lawbreakers contained is not the premier tactic to deal with them. While the ineffectiveness of keeping perpetrators in captivity is widely acknowledged, there are myriad of different methods to handle them, especially proving schooling and work training. While education brings criminals with knowledge to acknowledge their illegal act in the past, work training provides them a means of making money. Both aforementioned ways help them reintegrate with society and reduce the perpetrator rate. In Vietnam, there are reformatories established for the young criminals, which provide them awareness of their previous unlawful action and help them become a future participant in handicraft, sewing, mechanic industries to name a few. Therefore, schooling and vocational training is one of the optimal ways to treat offenders In conclusion, although putting some criminal behind the bars is suitable for some specific offenders, it is not the greatest method to apply on a mass scale. Instead, education and work training is more effective ways to cope with perpetrators