Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays a lot of people believe that students should have freedom in choosing university subjects that they are interested in while other part of people disagree with this point of view and think that students ought to be involved only in studying those subjects which are related to their future major. In 21’st century there is a tendency among students to choose the major that resonates with their heartbeat. To illustrate that, my niece Sholpan was absolutely interested in aviation from her childhood. Then when she became a student where she had an opportunity to be admitted to extracurricular classes in university and she had the freedom to study the subjects that interested her and mainly she chose those, which were helpful in being an air traffic controller, such as meteorology, aerodynamics and navigation. Thus, her dream came true and she could easily join Aviation High School in Riga and became an air traffic controller of KazAeroNavigation JSC. Studying from passion is more effective in most of the cases. On the other hand, many people feel that students should join classes which are related to technology and science only without any choice, such as natural science and technology, information technology etc. and they should focus on studying these subjects. Countrymen believe that in times of high technology and competition, countries must have highly qualified scientists and technologists, and if young people will mostly pay attention to arts and humanitarian subjects, the country will not have competitive economy. For instance, today young people think that there no need to study any exact sciences to be good blogger in Instagram or Tik Tok. So, an absolute freedom to pick subjects for the university students is not a good idea as well and I agree with this. In my opinion, there should be straight correlation between the demands of the country’s jobs market and the subjects that are needed to be taught in universities. To conclude, a certain freedom while picking subjects in university is very helpful for the overall development and knowledge enhancement of students. However, an absolute freedom can make the outcome worse.