Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are two controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the tactics to cope with perpetrators. While some claim that putting the lawbreakers behind the bar is the optimal method to cope with them, others make a statement that another far-reaching solution is to educate and train them to become a job holder. While the former is valid to some extent, I would regard myself as an advocate for the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, imprisoning criminals is not the optimal approach to deal with them. To be particular, governors should depend on the serious extent law breakers cause. For instance, there are numerous misdemeanors, such as shoplifting and pick pocketing that the governments should give them a fine. On the other hand, felonies such as murder or causing serious loss of poverty should be given a sentence, which keeps safe for ordinary citizens and offenders not to reoffend. Therefore, imprisonment should be considered an obsolete practice. While the inefficiency of keeping criminals contained is widely acknowledged, there are better alternatives to this issue, especially providing education and job orientation. To be specific, job training gives perpetrators a way to earn money while education helps them understand their past mistakes. Both approaches help offenders reintegrate in society and decrease the rates of reoffending. For instance, in Vietnam, a variety of reformatories are built for juvenile offenders where inmates are given the opportunity to participate in the handicraft and mechanic industries in the future. Therefore, one of the best ways to either combat crime or keep society safer is to provide education and job orientation. In conclusion, although imprisoning criminals is acceptable in some circumstances, it is not the best tactic to apply on a mass scale. Instead, education and job training are more effective ways to assist offenders in rehabilitation.