Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the way to cope with perpetrators. While some claim that putting offenders behind the bars is not the optimal method of dealing with them, others make a statement that education and job orientation are better tactics to help them. From my point of view, while the former is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, keeping law breakers in captivity is not the best mean of treating them. The government should base on criminals ’ level of guilt in order to find appropriate treatments with them. For example, the authorities ought to fine criminals who have misdemeanors such as graffiting, shoplifting and pickpocketing, to name a few. Meanwhile, the governors should imprison criminals who commit alarming felonies such as sexual assault, kidnapping and murdering so that society extremely becomes safer. Hence, keeping criminals contained is not the best effective manner to deal with them. While the ineffectiveness of keeping criminals under arrest is widely acknowledged, there are a wealth of other ways to handle criminals properly, especially providing education and job orientation. Education gives criminals a bunch of valuable perceptions of their mistakes in the old days. Meanwhile, job orientation provides a means of making money after they leave the prison. By doing so, they will reintegrate into the community and the rate of wicked acts will exponentially deteriorate. For instance, in Vietnam, there are lots of reformatories for juvenile criminals. They not only give criminals a reminder of the consequences of violating the law but also help them become job holders in the handicraft, sewing and mechanic industry. Therefore, education and job orientation are decent solutions to rehabilitate criminals. In conclusion, although making criminals imprisoned is tremendously suitable for some types of violent acts, it is not the greatest mode to apply on a mass scale. Instead, education and job orientation help criminals not to reoffend anymore.