Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over whether it is the best way to deal with lawbreakers.While some claim that incarcerating convicts is not the most effective strategy for dealing with them, others make an argument that education and job training are more effective methods of assisting them. From my perspective, while the former is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, sending criminals to prison is not the best method of coping with them. The government determines the proper treatment for them based on the gravity of the offense. For minor offenses such as hanging blankets on the wall, shoplifting, pick pocketing,... to name a few, the government could consider administrative fines. More serious offenses, such as murder or causing loss of property and life, the government should put them behind the jail in order to make society safer. Therefore, putting the offenders in prison is the most effective way to cope with crime. While the inefficiency of incarcerating criminals is widely acknowledged, there are several ways to deal with lawbreakers, especially providing education and job orientation. Job training lets offenders earn a living while educating them about their previous misdeeds. Both of these factors will aid in their reintegration into the society, diminishing the rate of recidivism. Many reformatories for juvenile delinquents are open in Vietnam, providing criminals with education and occupations such as handicraft, sewing, mechanic industry,.. to name a few. Education and job training is one of the remaining successful methods for rehabilitating criminals While jail is appropriate for certain sorts of offenses, it is not the ideal option to apply on a mass scale. Instead, education and job methods are more effective in order to cope with law breakers.