Most of the world’s poor live in countries where tourism is a growth industry. The issue is that tourism does not benefit the poor. How can the income generated by tourism benefit the poor? And how can we ensure that tourism does not destroy traditional culture and ways of life?

It is irrefutable that the increase in the manufacturing of consumer goods has led to damage to the environment. This has caused due to many reasons like rising population and modernisation. This essay will elaborate on these two causes and thus provide a feasible solution to this. Primarily, the first and foremost significant cause here is the preponderant population. The ever-increasing population demands a huge number of resources which are met by consumer products. However, these goods are produced by exploiting our natural resources. For instance, cars which are used as a necessary commodity for travelling are using fuel for their functioning and it is undeniable that fuels harm our nature. The second reason could be modernisation. It is quite evident that there has been a lot of development in our lifestyle which is coming to us at the cost of our natural environment. For example, timber from our precious trees is used to make fancy furniture which is a part of modern living. I believe the solution to this issue, however, is simple and can be addressed by the government and individuals. We all should try to reduce, reuse and recycle our resources as much as possible. All the upcoming development projects should be sustainable in nature. Hence, we progress but not at the cost of our surroundings. To sum up, the expanding need for improvement in the quality and quantity of natural resources is causing harm to mother Earth. We should all aim for sustainable development for a better future.