People nowadays prefer to interact online (e.g. do shopping, chat with friends) rather than talking to other people face-to-face. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Internet and online activities are becoming more fashionable these days. Indeed, with the improvement of wifi connexion and high-speed internet connection, people have started to use it for daily tasks such as talking with friends and buying in the supermarket and cloth shops and they prefer this interaction rather than talking in person. Internet development is a benefit because we are able to connect society from all over the world and do things that were not possible because of the distance. The major reason for its success is the comfort and ease it provides while shopping and chatting. It is not anymore necessary to waste time on basic work such as going to the grocery store to purchase small products. Only with an app like Glovo, it can be done by clicking on a screen and waiting for the delivery man. In addition, another attraction of online shopping is the wide variety of products that are offered. The acquirements are no more restricted to what we have in our city, we are able to buy the brand that we really want. Therefore, people are more inclined to shop sitting in the comfort of their homes rather than visiting shops. In addition, we are living in a globalized world where international transport means are highly developed. This implies that it is more likely that people migrate to other countries for better job or study opportunities. Consequently, the internet has turned into a crucial tool to connect relatives who live in a foreign country. For example, three decades ago it was impossible to phone every day to familiars due to the expensive call rates. They have to wait until the person visits them to be able to update each other. This hassle free-process has made people choose to stay in touch online instead of having face-to-face interactions. In conclusion, the innovation of the internet has positively improved our life quality by saving us time and effort. Technology is changing at a rapid pace and the world is adapting to these new changes.