The reason that most individuals are in debts is due to the overuse as well as irresponsible use of credit cards. Banks should not issue credit cards unless they are completely sure of an individual’s ability to pay back their debits. To what extent do you agree with this?

Nowadays, the number of citizens who run up an overdraft is increasing, and the reason for their debts is using credit cards constantly and irresponsibly. To tackle this problem, banks should not provide cards to customers without being sure of their ability to pay back the money that they borrowed. The purpose of this essay is to provide evidence of why I agree with this precaution. Firstly, a reality that exists all around the globe is the increasing amount of personal and national debt. People use their credit cards to buy products that cannot afford, claiming that they will be able to pay back for them in the future. However, they fail to pay back because of the global financial crisis, which has created exorbitant living costs, for example, a rise in the price of essential products and the price of accommodation. Banks must keep up with current issues and strict regulations regarding who will be allowed to have a credit card, and the best way to achieve that is by making a detailed credit check to every customer to ensure their credibility. Furthermore, the uncontrolled distribution of credit cards harmed the economy and the mental health of people in the past. For instance, when credit cards were first issued, banks were too lenient and tried to persuade anyone to have some. It was the best option for those who desired to pay back their mortgages, move to a better house, or go on luxurious holidays. People were unconscious of their spending so, in a short amount of time, their debts accumulated, and some even went bankrupt. Thus, banks must learn from the mistakes they made in the past and change their policy about issuing credit cards to anyone who cannot afford to have them. In conclusion, the irresponsible overuse of credit cards has led many citizens into debt. Many believe that banks are responsible for limiting their distribution and checking customers' backgrounds thoroughly to ensure that they will not face insolvency, and this essay provided arguments to support this point of view.