Interviews form the basic selecting criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that the interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, most companies employ workers after interviewing them. Certain individuals think this is not a perfect way of choosing workers since there are better ways of doing it. I, however totally disagree with the above assertion as I believe that interviewing people is the best option. The essay below will discuss this issue at large. To begin with, because of the internet invention, most jobs are advertised online and if an employer decides to hire someone without doing an interview, they would be putting both the company and themselves at risk. For instance, a lot of people use fake names and qualifications online. A study by Chung Chung in 2019 found that about 76 per cent of individuals on social media platforms were using fake names, occupations and ages. Thus, he advised companies to be careful when advertising jobs. For such reasons, I opine that doing interviews is important as it gives the employer a chance to physically see the one seeking employment and even see their qualifications. Furthermore, without doing interviews, the company would not know if the curriculum vitae they received is true. Some job seekers sometimes lie when talking about themselves. To illustrate, a certain company in Zambia was looking for workers to help build a railway line, most people applied but when the day for interviews came, a few were employed. This happened because some individuals had lied in their curriculum vitae that they were physically strong and able to lift heavy rail equipment. When the day for proving it came, they failed to carry the blocks. Thus to avoid such cases, companies must prioritise interviewing prospective workers. In conclusion, I totally disagree with the idea of avoiding interviews when hiring workers. This is because interviewing those who applied for the job helps employers to physically and personally know their future employees thereby avoiding being scammed. These and more issues are discussed in the essay above.