car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true do you think this statement is? what measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The significantly increase in car ownership over the past thirty years has become the biggest cause of traffic jam, and it is happening in many cities in the world. In my point of view, this statement is very true. I base my opinion on three reasons. Firstly, the car ownership causes the using of public transportation greatly decrease year on year. For instance in my city – called by Bandar Lampung – initially the circulation of buses and ‘ angkots ’ was very large, so they could be counted on the fingers right now. Secondly, the increase in car ownership makes the people more lazy to walk so that there is a buildup of unnecessary cars on the road, and this causes traffic jams. Thirdly, the effect of increasing in the number of car ownership is air and sound pollution which causes a feeling of fatigue in driving. Meanwhile, the government as a policy maker can take several steps to reduce the use of cars for the community. The first is a scheme to increase taxes for car owners so that private vehicles can only owned by the rich one. This scheme was used by Netherland and Singapore that called by ‘The Best Management Vehicles Country in The World’. Next scheme is to improve the services from public transportation and provide cheap prices to increase public interest in tunring to public vehicles which can reduce the presence of cars on the road. Therefore, i agree that car ownership is really biggest cause of traffic jam and it can be reduce by using the public transportation..