Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general.

Surveys have revealed that people spend less and less time engaged with their interests in their spare time. This essay will discuss two possible reasons and the negative impacts on society and individuals. The modern lifestyle has increasingly distanced people from the things they used to enjoy doing. Nowadays, work has become more and more fast-paced and stressful. In many cases, employees need to work overtime to complete their daily work tasks. In addition, the increased complexity of those tasks often exhausted the task-takers' physical and mental labor. On the other hand, the invention of handheld devices has consumed substantial time and concentration from folks. Many researchers have pointed out that screen life is excessively replacing those conventional social lives, such as meeting friends and participating in social activities. Therefore, people have lost interest in their old hobbies. The phenomenon is considered harmful to both society and individuals. Regarding individuals, the almost unbearable stress level at work can put their mental and physical health a great risk. According to studies, stress is associated with countless health complications, such as cardiovascular disease, depression, and diabetes. Apart from that, people with intensive work mass tend to maintain a sedentary lifestyle,(sedentariness,) which is a significant cause of obesity and postural imbalance. When it comes to society, the dramatically increased incidence rate of medical conditions certainly requires a vast investment in healthcare systems. It is undoubtedly heavier the financial burden to the governments. Furthermore, a large number of patients will lower the productivity of society. To conclude, the modern workstyle and new entertainment forms made people too busy and stressed to enjoy their interests. However, the downsides, such as declined health, and expanded social spending, are remarkable and should draw the public's concern.