Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarket have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packing. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent days, most people look for easy solutions to their daily activities to reduce time spent on repeated routines. Also, it became more common to see people living alone and spending most of their day outside of the home. This tendency leads the industry to develop new solutions for their clients, such as packing smaller portions of food and packing portions of vegetables, that did not ask for packaging before. Supermarkets and manufacturers must follow the needs of their primary buyers to produce and sell their products. At the same time, they must follow their ideals. In the last decade, ESG issues had became more important, and they impact industry decisions more than they did years ago. For this reason, the industry as a whole should benefit from looking for more environmentally friendly alternatives for packing goods. Customers are also more involved in ESG issues, and they tend to reflect their views and beliefs in their shopping habits. Although, most societies look for facilities, when they consider producing less trash, they try to balance their convenience with their impact on the world leading customers to choose alternatives to packaging. For example, if they can buy an apple alone using their own reusable bag for packing, they would probably not buy an apple packed one by one. In conclusion, both companies and customers should do their part in reducing packaging. I believe that industries should be more responsible with the environment and reduce packaging, and I believe people can incentivise manufacturers and supermarkets by prioritizing goods with better packaging alternatives or no packaging at all.