Many food and drink prodcuts contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary Products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In today's context of the world, having a higher level of sugar content in food and beverages can be identified as the main reason to have a number of health issues. Hence, it can be argued that, these products should be made more expensive to discourage the community. I concur with the above statement due to the facts below. Firstly, modern people in the world, are struggling to make their food on their own due to their office work and busy life. Hence, they buy cheaper junk food which contains higher carbohydrate levels as a solution. As a result, their carbohydrate intake will be higher, which will lead to many life-threatening diseases such as heart disease, diabetes etc. Secondly, if we take any dairy products like fresh milk and cheese, the content of carbohydrate is comparatively higher than in earlier days. The reason for this could be achieving higher sales with the enhancement of taste. Because when any product tastes good humans tend to buy more. Due to this people will consume sugar without their knowledge. To discourage the consumption of sugar, the most effective way is to increase their prices. If these products are expensive, only a limited number of the community will be able to buy. Most probably the wealthy ones. However, given that most of these community are educated,they tend to read the ingredients on the label. Hence, they will also discourage making the buying decision. Apart from that, governments can introduce a mechanism or legislation to display the sugar level of each and every product. This will assist people to know the carbohydrate content of the item prior to their purchasing decision. In conclusion, it can be argued that the reason to have many health issues is the glucose content in consumable products and there are a number of ways where the consumption of carbohydrate can be discouraged via the involvement of the government.