It is thought by some that a school teacher's role is to motivate and inspire students. However, other people believe that a teacher's primary role is to pass on knowledge. What do you think is a role of a teacher?

In recent years, there had been a controversy about the role of teachers among school children. Some argue that it is mainly to pass on knowledge and others are of the opinion that it involves motivation and inspiration as well. However, I think that depending on the context and situation, they can play both roles. To begin with, our Modern college curriculum today is developed in an approach that can help in the development stage of a kid and not just for education. For example,a juvenile attending an institution will be exposed to different social activities, bad friends and media, some of this can corrupt the mindset of the juvenile, when the teacher noticed the dropped in performance and change in behaviour of this child, they can advise the child or invite a counsellor so as to work on the changes and this serves as an inspiration to the kid. In addition, most of our parents today are busy chasing money and don't have time for their kids and therefore put their children in boarding schools. In this case, the children are left to learn 70-80% about life from their new environment, friends and teachers because they are left to be fully dependent on them. The tutors will behave in a certain manner, which the students can learn from it. For instance, their dress, time consciousness, the form of teaching, dialect and accent, achievements and ranks, in one way or the order, all have an impact on the life of their students because they watch them daily and some of the teachers become the role model-someone they wished to be like in future.They also play a major role in motivating and inspiring the kids. In summary, the major part of tutors is to teach and impart knowledge but it goes beyond that because the kids watch on a daily basis and learn a lot from not only what they teach but also their behaviours. In order words, they motivate and inspire as well as passes information to the juveniles.