In some countries, governments encourage businesses to move outside of the cities to solve the problems of housing and transport in the cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this policy?

Nowadays, the constantly increasing population of big cities rises a lot of issues for their government. In these conditions, some of the local politicians implement a policy that encourages companies to relocate their businesses outside the cities. This measure has its advantages and disadvantages, and in my opinion, the benefits outweigh it. Some of the advantages of this policy are quite obvious. Firstly, removing businesses, and consequently, offices they occupied, from the city centre reduces the pressure on the traffic, which become easy in the morning and evening hours. As a result, citizens have fewer troubles regarding traffic jams and can commute faster, therefore decreasing their expenditures. The second consequence is increasing space for building new houses when the demand for new business premises decreases, and moreover, old buildings previously used like office space can be redeveloped for lofts and apartments for living. Although these are valid merits of this process, there are some drawbacks that should be also considered. The only part of this policy that suffers is business in general. First of all, any relocation costs big money, though companies should find these extra expenditures in their budgets and include them in the price of their products. Which then will be paid by ultimate consumers, simply saying, ordinary people. Additionally, businesses would ask for compensation or subsidies in order to relocate their staff to new locations, so these also would be additional pressure on a local government budget. To conclude, this practice has its huge benefits, such as reducing traffic in the city centers and increasing places for new houses for a living, which without any doubt outweigh all possible downsides, such as extra expenses for companies and governments budgets. I strongly believe that local politics should do their best in that way.