The position of women has changed a great deal in many societies over the past 50 years. But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In many nations, although the role of females has developed tremendously over the past decades, it is still believed that women still have not taken their full rights. In my opinion, there are still concrete steps to be taken in order to achieve sex-equality. To begin with, discrimination against women is still present in the workplace. It is true that multinational companies have included the importance of women's presence in their code of conduct. But in terms of career development, men are always prioritized. Moreover, it is believed that females take their decisions emotionally rather than rationally. Therefore, they can not hold sensitive positions in leadership. For instance, a research was done in Canada that showed that if a male and female have the exact same CV, the percentage of the male getting promoted is 60% higher. Additionally, women still suffer from social sexism in many ways,as a lot of people believe that men are more capable as well as more qualified. Firstly, men are favoured over women in many aspects of life because they are physically stronger. One good example is, Patients believe that surgeries require physical strength. Hence, they prefer male physicians. Secondly, in some,societies a female has to take a male’s approval if she wants to leave her house and she is not allowed to make any decisions regarding her children. To sum up, females have come a long way to prove their presence in society. However, I believe that nations are not even near achieving class equality either socially or professionally.