Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information maybe relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Sharing personal information in a job interview has become quite common these days. It may support the hiring managers to get an idea about the personality of the person they are going to hire and compatibility with their work culture, while some believe it is not a great idea. In this essay, I will shed light on both concepts. However, I support the first idea. Firstly, it is needed to be understood that there are certain occupations that require a certain type of personality. Let us take an example of the field of marketing and sales. This profession requires an extrovert kind of person who can make a good customer relationships. So, the companies which are planning to onboard employees in this particular area must be looking for someone who has friendly nature and they instruct their employers to get a clear understanding of one's interests in an interview by probing into the interviewee's personal life. On the other hand, revealing too much detail about personal life can be unsafe for anyone even under professional boundaries. For example, sharing marital status is a crucial matter and everyone would not be comfortable sharing such intimate information. While, there are some people who don't bother being asked such questions, but those who are going through a rough time in their private lives may avoid disclosing this information. On the contrary, the marital status of an employee can predict to which extent they are needy for the job. One illustration of this is that, if a person is married and he is the only breadwinner of his family then it can be believed that he would work hard to make both ends meet. This revelation of personal life could facilitate the hirers to choose amongst the potential candidates. In conclusion, it can be said that personal information could be predictive of various important aspects for the future but it must be ensured that only related information should be asked from a person during an interview and he or she should be given complete liberty of refusing any question to be answered.