In many countries, more and more people buy a wider range of household goods like television, microwave oven and rice cooker. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the development of technology, new domestic appliances are replacing human labour, especially in developed nations. More and more families tend to purchase a various range of household products, such as televisions, microwaves and rice cookers. This essay will explain why I believe it is both a negative and a positive trend. To begin with, the usage of domestic appliances can make our life more convenient and efficient: TV provides us with a more engaging channel to obtain knowledge and entertainment. For instance, people now tend to watch documentaries, movies and sitcoms on the BBC and Netflix; People used to heat food with a pan and stove, which was complex and very time-consuming. whereas, they can now get well-heated food in 2 minutes, which is helpful for young workers. Similar to microwave ovens, rice cookers also play a vital role in our daily lives and assist those who are not good at cooking to cook rice more easily. Nevertheless, the wider usage of domestic devices also has negative impacts on the environment. For example, a variety of technology companies updated their goods very often for every household to purchase, and there is no doubt that the ever-used devices will be trashed, however, these waste products can not easily be degraded, which can be detrimental to the streams, soil and even fresh water for our daily need. In addition, the frequent adoption of plastic-made containers may cause people to suffer from cancer due to their easily melting features. Last but not least, if you were exposed to television for an extended period, which could impair your eyesight eventually. In conclusion, based on the above evidence and analysis, I believe that there is no doubt that the wider usage of everyday gadgets can make our lives better. Whereas, if residents buy too many everyday devices and gadgets and do not dispose of electrical wastes appropriately, which will cause damage to the environment.