In many large cities some people waste hours of their time everyday because of traffic jams on the road. What do you think are the causes of these? What solutions can you suggest?

In a major cities a lot of people lose hours of their time each day due to traffic jam. The main causes of this problem are many new cars and low quality of road organisation. One cause of traffic congestion is increasing the number of new vehicles. Poor quality and insufficient quantity of public transport, an increase in the welfare of the people, as a result leads to the fact that people buy cars. The solution is to improve public transport, to acquire cars in adequate quantity and set rules. In China, for example, cars with numbers 1 and 5 can move on the roads on Monday, and on Tuesday – on 2 and 6, on weekends, everyone is allowed to use the roads. Moreover, in Singapore, they limited the number of cars sold and reduced the cost of taxi fare. Another cause of this problem is the low quality of road organisation. The number of cars increases every year, but the number and width of the road remains the same, so in the central parts, especially in the areas where schools are located, there are frequent traffic jams. The construction of new additional roads and tunnels will be effective in solving this problem. In Tokyo, for instance, one of the cities with the highest level of technology development, the situation with traffic jams is solved by building 5-level interchanges. In conclusion most of people send their time in the road due to traffic jams. There are several reason of it, main of them are new cars and low quality of road organisation.