We have been living in the nuclear age now for over half a century. Since the first atomic bombs were developed, nuclear technology has provided governments with the ability to totally destroy the planet. Yet the technology has been put to positive use as an energy source and in certain areas of medicine. What are the benefits and risks associated with its use?

In the last century, technology allowed to development of resources like nuclear energy, which has been useful for society in areas like medicine. However, it has dangerous consequences if it is used wrongly. This essay will attempt to analyse the advantages and risks of this supply. The progress made in nuclear technology has made it possible to produce electrical energy in a more respectful way for the environment. It is because nuclear energy does not produce CO2 as fossil fuels. For instance, the United States has it as their primary source of energy. Moreover, nuclear technology has been very useful in medical treatments. It has been of great importance in the advances in cancer therapies. Even though, nuclear technology could be very dangerous and detrimental if it is used in the wrong way or for bad purposes. So many countries, like the United States, have been developing since Second World War military weapons with nuclear technology. A clear example of this is the atomic bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, where a lot of civil people were murdered by the explosion or the consequences of nuclear radiation. Another disadvantage could be that when using this kind of energy any system failure may result in a complete disaster, affecting the environment, and people’s health and even causing death. An example of this is the disaster of Chornobyl, which malfunction was horrible for the population around the nuclear station. After the explosion, there were a lot of deaths and the consequences affected even two generations after, when people were given birth to children with malformations or developing diseases such as cancer. To summarise, nuclear technology could be very useful if it is used carefully and for positive proposals, nevertheless it is a powerful energy and it can become something very dangerous and unfavourable.