Some businesses find that their new employees lack in basic interpersonal skills such as lack of ability to work With colleagues as a team. What are the causes and suggest possible solutions

G collaborative working T Businesses - employees - lack collaborative/interpersonal skills A C - social media C - social media discourages socializing + focus more on their phones during breaks - not supportive working enviroment > bad relationship + no collaborative room /places for employees to connect = S - business should encourage employees to build relationship with each other. + collaborative exercises/occasional team building exercise - enhance wroking environment + change how workstations are configured, add gaming room = C = Collaborative working is getting more popular nowadays. However, some businesses may find their employees struggling to work together. This essay shall examine some factors that cause difficulties in co-working and suggest several solutions. Discouragement in working collaboratively may be caused by some external factors. Firstly, nowadays, social media brings many negative influences to how people interact with each other. For instance, in offices, employees are more inclined to stare at their phones during breaks to find entertainment. This distraction discourages employees to bond with others. Moreover, some workplaces may not offer a suitable environment to work collaboratively. Workstations, for instance, are arranged in a grid layout with panels, blocking workers from each other. These external factors do not only prevent workers to connect with each other; but they also deteriorate workers ' collaborative skills. Some potential solutions can come from the businesses themselves. Companies should start by encouraging their employees to build relationship with each other. This can be done, for example, through occasional outings, which include team building exercises. This way, people are able to informally connect with each other. Consequently, once they get comfortable, collaborative working will happen naturally. In addition, businesses should also provide workplaces that support co-working. As an example, workplaces can include informal rooms for employees to connect during breaks, namely, entertainment room and lunch room. These interventions can train employees to informally connect with each other before ultimately performing better in collaborative tasks. In conclusion, workers are unable to work together because of several aspects, such as distractions from social media, and unsupportive workplaces. However, there are a few solutions that can be implemented to mitigate this, namely, regular office team building programs and providing workers with a collaborative working environment.