It has been said that the world is becoming a global village in which there are no boundaries to trade and communication. Do the benefits of globalization outweigh the drawbacks?

In this contemporary era, the world has become a global village while bringing people together. A business can trade in multiple parts of the world without facing any difficulty. Although globalization has many drawbacks, I believe that its advantages outweigh the disadvantages that will be explained in this essay. Firstly, the invention of social media has eased our mode of communication. A person living in any part of the globe can contact his friend thousands of miles away from him. Many organizations such as Skype, Google and Facebook allow video calls in a conference, which enables human beings to communicate in an effective way. For example, during COVID-19, social media has allowed employers to engage their employees while working from home. A survey found that more than 50% of companies shifted their daily activities to online media platforms. Secondly, trading via the internet has become a widespread concept over the past few years. Instead of spending hours shopping and looking for the right product in markets, many online platforms such as Ali Express, Shopify and Amazon allow users to find the desired product in less than a minute. Moreover, the customer can get the item delivered to his home within a day. With every benefit, there is a corresponding downside too. The use of social media and internet trade has minimized social interactions and emotions among people. Furthermore, globalization has caused cultural homogenization. For instance, the global use of the English language posed a serious threat to many local languages and cultures. To conclude, I must have to accept the fact that various benefits such as effective communication and easier trade overshadow some demerits of globalization.