Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

There are two controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the significance of old buildings. While some claim that it is necessary for people to reserve old buildings, others make a statement that historical venues should not hold back the progress. In my opinion, both views have its redeeming features, so it is optimal to combine those. Without a shadow of a down, maintaining the old buildings which are protected by legislation play a significant role. To be specific, the old buildings should remain unswerving on the grounds that they remain the ancient beauty of the country. For example, old quarter, lying in the heart of Hanoi Capital in Vietnam, where conserved myriads of culture, lifestyle, clothes, to name a few. Hence, it is crucial for people to protect ancient buildings. While the significance of maintaining old buildings is widely acknowledged, in contrast, some ancient buildings should be pulled down in order to develop houses and offices for dwellers. To be specific, in this day and age, a bunch of ancient buildings have a pretty small size, which does not meet the demand of living and working for citizens. For example, Royal City and Time City are cutting-edge skyscrapers in Hanoi, where myriads of old buildings used to be, have sprung up to demand for spaces to live and work. Thus, old buildings should be devastated rather than remain unswerving. To sum up, it is necessary for people to maintain old buildings. At odds with, some ancient buildings need to be demolished to give inhabitants places and make way for progress of the nation.