Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Without a shadow of a doubt, maintaining old buildings is of the necessity. As ancient dwellings are a part of the region's history, they can protect and preserve the cultural heritage of the country when being protected by the law. For example, Hoi An Ancient Town which is located on the central coast of Vietnam is not only a famous tourist attraction, but it also represents traditional old values of Vietnam's history during the 1930s. Therefore, maintaining ancient dwellings play a paramount significant role. While the importance of preserving old buildings are widely acknowledged, it is obviously insignificant for them to be demolished to make room for accommodations and agencies, which hold back the progress of the nation. For the reason that urbanisation is becoming more and more popular, it leads to the population boom and also the ever-increasing demands for land to live, especially in the metropolises. Thus, ancient dwellings which cannot offer enough space for people to live should be replaced by other skyscrapers and apartments instead. By doing so, the progress of the nation can be stimulated. For instance, Times City in Hanoi is a housing complex which is built on a major scale can offer a flood of demands from citizens for living and working purposes. Hence, history in general and ancient dwellings in particular should not hinder the progress of a country. To sum up, although the importance of protecting old buildings cannot be denied, it is true that they should be abolished for accommodations and workplaces in order not to stand in the way of progress of the country.