Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Most individuals believe that the only motive for learning a foreign language is in purpose to move to or work in an overseas country, while others think that is why someone needs to learn a foreign language. On the one hand, learning an overseas language has many advantages for people. Firstly, it would give people the experience of other cultures and perspectives. This means that is the best way to be fluent in a second language. For instance, if people surrounding by masters of the language they can easily learn another language without any difficulties. Secondly working abroad would provide people with the opportunity of getting a well-paid job. For instance, those who worked in a restaurant can earn a high salary because of being able to speak English. On the other hand, moving or working is not the only option why people learn abroad languages. Some people claim that learning a new language gives a myriad of chances to the people. This is because, individuals have an interest in watching original movies in a foreign language, furthermore, they want to learn the language. To sum up, there are also some people who learn second languages as part of their curiosity. I believe whatever the reasons why people use foreign languages, as long as it brings good impacts for their life then it would be fine.