Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is thought that teenagers should choose their university department according to their interests. However, while determining their branch, people also consider which may be beneficial for them in the future. We will consider both sides of the debate in this essay. On the one hand, it can be said that having an interest in an occupation would provide high motivation for employees. This lead to a creative environment in the workplace, which brings success to both individuals and companies. According to research in Sweden, for instance, the majority of the most successful scientists work in their dream job and they found many possibilities to make scientific inventions such as a cure for a rare disease, and a vaccine against an infectious virus. Furthermore, those who support doing the job you love claim that changing your profession may be quite difficult once you select it. This is caused by the priorities of companies about recruiting experienced workers which creates keen competition among job-seekers. The other side of this discussion is the importance of a career’s financial aspect. If youngsters study in a profitable department in college, the wage for their future careers will be undoubtedly high. This results in adult life without economic issues, thus less probability of coping with depression or anxiety. Moreover, because of the popularity of useful occupations, there is almost no risk of unemployment which might be caused by increased inflation worldwide and economic crisis. This provides not only a stressless work life but also the opportunity for a job hopping. As an example, last year, the most popular vaccine-producing company decided to move to another country without concern about bankruptcy. In conclusion, I would tend to side with opponents of studying what people desire. It seems to be unreasonable to pick a branch that would not offer high income and popularity in the future. It would be more logical to consider benefits whilst making a career plan.